OIYD_Spot Art_Heartbeat.jpg
Only-If-You-Dare_3D.jpg
“A chilling anthology of memorable scares that will leave even the biggest horror buffs sleeping with the light on.” - ★ A Starred School Library Journal review 

Only If You Dare

Josh Allen & Sarah J.Coleman

My second collaboration with new horror voice Josh Allen once again called for 13 more of my black and white ink illustrations, along with unsettling chapter headings and a wraparound cover...which like its predecessor 'Out To Get You' GLOWS IN THE DARK!

In the run-up to publication I made an animation or a video a week - one for each story - for the 13 weeks leading up to publication - you can see those below.

'Out To Get You' was a Junior Library Guild selection for 2019/20, and Kirkus Reviews stated that this follow-up will 'fly off the shelves'.


Published by Holiday House Books, NYC, August 30th 2021; ages 8 and up.


Where to buy:

UK: Blackwells / Amazon  USA: Holiday House Books Indiebound / Amazon
 

PRAISE for ONLY IF YOU DARE

"Hauntingly illustrated by Sarah Coleman, this delightfully dark and spine-tingling anthology will keep young readers and horror lovers on the edge of their seats. Perfect for fans of Christian Heidicker's Scary Stories for Young Foxes." - Booklist
 

"The frightening concepts and grisly illustrations may put off more timorous readers, but intrepid tweens and teens who enjoy a thrill will be thoroughly sucked in..." - The Horn Book

"Dive deep into a nightmarish wonderland where everything and nothing is as it seems in this collection of short stories complete with creepy illustrations." — ​Booklist Review

 

"Realistically sketched b&w full-page illustrations by Coleman, augmented by hand-lettering and washes of ink, lend additional ambiance to each well-paced tale. Though horror fans will enjoy this spine-tingling selection, readers with more delicate sensibilities may wish to approach with caution." - Publishers Weekly

onlyifyoudare-activity-kit-crop.png
OIYD_Spot Art_Wake Up Too.jpg